التزام أوستن ISD بالمباني الخضراء

يمكن لضوء النهار ومناظر الأماكن الخارجية أن تقلل من الحاجة إلى الإضاءة الاصطناعية وتعزز بيئة تعليمية إيجابية. هنا ، يستخدم مدرس TA Brown والطلاب الضوء الطبيعي في حجرة الدراسة.

في أوستن ISD ، تعد الاستدامة قوة دافعة وراء مهمتنا لتوفير تجربة تعليمية شاملة وعالية الجودة تتحدى الطلاب وتلهمهم لتقديم مساهمة إيجابية لعالمنا. تسعى مجتمعاتنا المدرسية إلى الحفاظ على البيئات التي نعمل فيها ونعيش ونلعب وتحسينها من خلال بناء ثقافة للوعي البيئي والعمل. كمبادرة على مستوى المنطقة ، تعمل AISD على تقديم أحدث ابتكارات وتقنيات المباني الخضراء لجميع مدارسنا.

منذ عام 2004 ، عملت جميع المدارس الجديدة ومشاريع التجديد الكبرى على تحقيق درجات عالية من مبنى أوستن للطاقة الخضراء (AEGB). تتمثل مهمة AEGB في خلق مستقبل مستدام لصناعة البناء من خلال إبلاغ سياسات المدينة وقوانين الطاقة وتشجيع الطلب العام على الاستدامة. تم تأسيس AEGB في عام 1991 كأول نظام تصنيف في الولايات المتحدة لتقييم استدامة المباني وقد ألهم العديد من المدن لاتباعها. مع وجود واحد وثلاثين مبنى معتمد من AEGB ، تفخر AISD بالمساهمة في أهداف أوستن البيئية والاستدامة ، مع تعليم طلابنا في الوقت نفسه أهمية الإشراف المسؤول.

تعمل AISD بجد لتزويد جميع الطلاب بتجربة تعليمية عملية توفر فرصة للمشاركة في سيناريوهات العالم الحقيقي ، ومساعدتهم على أن يصبحوا قادة وصناع تغيير داخل مجتمعهم. تعاونت AISD مع إيكورايز، وكلية الهندسة المعمارية بجامعة تكساس ، وشركة BLGY Architecture لتصميم وتجريب برنامج تدريب مبتكر للمباني الخضراء لطلاب المدارس الثانوية بوسط تكساس. يسعى برنامج التدريب الداخلي إلى خلق فرص وظيفية للطلاب ناقصي التمثيل تاريخياً في مجال المباني الخضراء ، بما في ذلك الطالبات والطلاب الملونين.

يشارك متدربو المباني الخضراء في مدرسة Akins الثانوية في جولة في موقع البناء لمستقبل Blazier 4-6th الصف School.

في العام الماضي فقط ، تعلم طلاب مدرسة أكينز الثانوية في دورة البحث العلمي والتصميم الخاصة بالسيد جون سايس عن المباني الخضراء والاستدامة من خلال منهج EcoRise's LEED (الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئي) التحضيري، والتي تعدهم أيضًا لإجراء اختبار LEED Green Associate. لقد تدربوا مع محترفين BLGY Architecture الذين يصممون Blazier's 4-6 الجديدةth Grad School ، مشروع تحديث لبرنامج Bond 2017. اكتسب الطلاب نظرة ثاقبة حول المباني الخضراء من خلال ورش عمل LEED والجولات في مواقع البناء وأحداث الغداء والتعلم مع ممثلي الصناعة. من خلال دمج البحث والجولات والتعاون والعروض التقديمية والمشاركة في المحادثات مع المهندسين المعماريين ، واجه الطلاب نافذة على واقع الصناعة مع متخصصين ممارسين للأبنية الخضراء.

قبل البدء في مشاريع البناء المدرجة في برنامج بوند 2017 ، قامت AISD بتحديث المواصفات التعليمية أو المواصفات Ed ، وهي معايير ومفاهيم التصميم المستخدمة من قبل المناطق التعليمية لتوجيه بناء مرافق المدرسة الجديدة وتجديدات المساحات الرئيسية لإنشاء بيئات تعليمية جذابة وفعالة. تقوم المواصفات Ed الخاصة بـ AISD الآن بدمج التصميم المستدام بحيث لا تحافظ مرافق المنطقة على الموارد من خلال تقليل الاعتماد على مرافق المياه والكهرباء والغاز فحسب ، بل تعزز أيضًا نتائج التعلم. كجزء من برنامج Bond ، سيتم تجهيز كل مشروع تحديث بميزات تصميم ذكية مصممة لتقليل البصمة البيئية لـ AISD.

يستعرض معلمو TA Brown بركة التعلم الخاصة بهم.

على سبيل المثال ، تتميز مدرسة TA Brown الابتدائية التي تم افتتاحها حديثًا بأول نظام تخزين ثلجي حراري في المنطقة ، والذي يسمح للمنطقة بتعديل درجة حرارة المنشأة بكفاءة وتقليل الاستهلاك الكلي للطاقة. كمدرسة خضراء متجذرة في STEAM والتعلم في الهواء الطلق ، فإن دمج الطبيعة في بيئة التعلم يعزز التحصيل الأكاديمي من خلال التعلم العملي والتجربة ويعزز العمليات المعرفية والعاطفية المهمة للتعلم. تتميز المدرسة الحديثة بمسار حلقي طبيعي ، وخزان مياه ، وسرير كريك جاف ، وبركة تعليمية ، ولعب بالطبيعة ، ونباتات الملقحات الأصلية ، وقلم الماعز ، وأشجار تراثية للتعلم المخصب في جميع المجالات.

بينما ستتلقى كل مدرسة ميزات استدامة فريدة مصممة خصيصًا لتناسب أهداف المدرسة وبيئتها ، فإن كل مدرسة مبنية من سند 2017 ستدمج كل هذه المبادرات الخضراء:

  • الحد من استخدام المياه في الأماكن المغلقة: تركيبات السباكة الموفرة للمياه بما في ذلك الحنفيات والمراحيض والاستحمام توفر المياه وتقلل من الطلب على البنية التحتية للمياه في المدينة.
  • الحد من استخدام المياه في الهواء الطلق: ستوفر المدارس المياه باستخدام محطات ذكية للمياه ومعدات ري فعالة ومياه معالجة آمنة للاستخدام في الهواء الطلق.
  • المناظر الطبيعية الأصلية والتكيفية: يتميز كل منظر طبيعي بالنباتات الذكية المائية المختارة بعناية والتي تزدهر في مناخ أوستن وتجذب الملقحات المحلية.
  • الحد من التلوث الضوئي: مصابيح الإضاءة الخارجية تركز الضوء عند الحاجة للسلامة مع حماية جمال سماء الليل وموائل الحياة البرية الليلية.
  • للحفاظ على الطاقة: لتقليل استخدام الطاقة وتوفير المال ، تمتلك جميع المدارس أنظمة تكييف وتدفئة وإضاءة فعالة ، وأجهزة استشعار لضوء النهار والإشغال ، ونوافذ عالية الأداء.
  • 100٪ إضاءة LED: إضاءة LED عالية الكفاءة خالية من الزئبق وتدوم طويلاً. تستخدم أنظمة التحكم في الإضاءة مستشعرات ضوء النهار لتعتيم الأضواء تلقائيًا لتوفير مستويات إضاءة مريحة وتقليل استخدام الطاقة.
  • مواد الصحة والاستدامة: اختارت كل مدرسة بعناية المواد التي توفر بيئة داخلية صحية لطلابنا ومعلمينا وموظفينا. العديد من هذه المواد مصنوعة من محتوى معاد تدويره ومن مصادر تكساس.
  • إنتاج محلي وإقليمي: تستخدم جميع المقاهي الفواكه والخضروات من المزارع المحلية ، وتقدم وجبات صحية للطلاب ، وتعزز الممارسات الزراعية السليمة بيئيًا.
  • تنظيف أخضر: المنتجات والمعدات المستخدمة لتنظيف مدرستنا تحمي شاغلي المبنى والبيئة من المواد الكيميائية والملوثات التي قد تكون خطرة.
  • التعلم في الهواء الطلق: مناطق التعلم الخارجية ستلبي البيئة وتختلف حسب الحرم الجامعي. أمثلة على التعلم في الهواء الطلق هي مسار حلقة الطبيعة ، وخزان المياه ، وسرير الخور الجاف ، وبركة التعلم ، وحديقة الفراشات ، ولعب الطبيعة ، ونباتات الملقحات المحلية ، وأشجار التراث للتعلم العملي في الطبيعة في جميع المجالات.

نحن متحمسون لتنمية جهود الاستدامة لدينا من خلال مشاريع التحديث. تعلم المزيد عن استدامة AISD واكتشف كيفية المشاركة في لجنة الإشراف البيئي AISD. نشكرك على دعمك لأننا نعمل على إنشاء مساحات تعليمية للقرن الحادي والعشرين لجميع الطلاب والاستمرار في إعادة اختراع تجربة المدرسة الحضرية!

Austin ISD’s Commitment to Green Building

Daylight and views to the outdoors can reduce the need for artificial lighting and foster a positive learning environment. Here, a T.A. Brown teacher and students use the natural light in their classroom.

At Austin ISD, sustainability is a driving force behind our mission to provide a high quality and comprehensive educational experience that challenges and inspires students to make a positive contribution to our world. Our school communities seek to preserve and improve the environments where we work, live and play by building a culture of environmental awareness and action. As a district-wide initiative, AISD is working to bring the latest green building innovations and technologies to all of our schools.

Since 2004, all new schools and major renovation projects have worked to achieve high ratings from Austin Energy Green Building (AEGB). AEGB’s mission is to create a sustainable future for the building industry by informing city policies and energy codes and encouraging public demand for sustainability. AEGB was founded in 1991 as the first rating system in the U.S. for evaluating building sustainability and it inspired many cities to follow. With thirty-one AEGB certified buildings and counting, AISD is proud to contribute to Austin’s environmental and sustainability goals, while simultaneously teaching our students the importance of responsible stewardship.

AISD works hard to provide all students with a hands-on learning experience that provides an opportunity to engage in real-world scenarios, helping them to become leaders and change-makers within their community. AISD has teamed up with EcoRise, the University of Texas School of Architecture, and BLGY Architecture to design and pilot an innovative Green Building Internship Program for Central Texas high school students. The internship program seeks to create career opportunities for historically underrepresented students in the field of green building, including female students and students of color.

Akins High School green building interns participate in a construction site tour of the future Blazier 4-6th Grade School.

Just this past year, Akins High School students in Mr. John Sayce’s Scientific Research and Design course learned about green building and sustainability through EcoRise’s LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Prep Curriculum, which also prepares them to take the LEED Green Associate exam. They interned with BLGY Architecture professionals who are designing the new Blazier’s 4-6th Grade School, a modernization project of the 2017 Bond Program. Students gained insight on green buildings through LEED workshops, construction site tours, and Lunch-and-Learn events with industry representatives. With the integration of research, tours, collaboration, presentations, and engaging conversations with the architects, the students experienced a window into the realities of the industry with practicing green building professionals.

Before starting the construction projects included in the 2017 bond program, AISD updated its Educational Specifications or Ed Specs, which are design standards and concepts used by school districts to guide new school facility construction and major space renovations to create engaging and effective learning environments. AISD’s Ed Specs now integrate sustainable design so that the district’s facilities not only conserve resources through a reduced reliance on water, electrical and gas utilities, but also enhance learning outcomes. As a part of the bond program, every modernization project will be equipped with smart design features designed to minimize AISD’s ecological footprint.

T.A. Brown teachers show off their learning pond.

For example, the newly-opened T.A. Brown Elementary School features the district’s first thermal ice storage system, which allows the district to efficiently moderate the facility’s temperature and reduce overall energy consumption. As a green school rooted in STEAM and outdoor learning, the integration of nature into the learning environment promotes academic achievement through hands-on, experiential learning and enhances the cognitive and emotional processes important for learning. The modernized school features a nature loop trail, water cistern, dry creek bed, learning pond, nature play, native pollinator plants, goat pen, and heritage trees for enriched learning across all subject areas.

While each school will receive unique sustainability features tailored to their school’s goals and environment, every school built from the 2017 bond will incorporate all of these green initiatives:

  • Indoor Water Use Reduction: Water-efficient plumbing fixtures including faucets, toilets and showers save water and reduce demand on the city’s water infrastructure.
  • Outdoor Water Use Reduction: Schools will save water by using water-smart plants, efficient irrigation equipment and reclaimed water that is safe for outdoor use.
  • Native and Adaptive Landscaping: Each landscape features carefully chosen water-smart plants that thrive in Austin’s climate and attract local pollinators. 
  • Light Pollution Reduction: The outdoor light fixtures focus light where needed for safety while protecting the beauty of the night sky and the habitats of nocturnal wildlife.
  • Energy Conservation: To reduce the energy use and save money, all schools have efficient air conditioning, heating and lighting systems, daylight and occupancy sensors, and high-performance windows.  
  • 100% LED Lighting: High-efficiency LED lighting is mercury-free and long-lasting. The lighting control systems use daylight sensors to automatically dim the lights to provide comfortable lighting levels and reduce energy use.
  • Health and Sustainability Materials: Each school has thoughtfully selected materials that provide a healthy indoor environment for our students, teachers, and staff. Many of these materials are made with recycled and Texas-sourced content.
  • Local and Regional Produce: All cafés use fruits and vegetables from local farms, providing healthy meals for students, and promoting environmentally-sound agricultural practices. 
  • Green Cleaning: The products and equipment used to clean our school protect building occupants and the environment from potentially hazardous chemicals and contaminants. 
  • Outdoor Learning: Outdoor learning areas will cater to the environment and vary by campus. Examples of outdoor learning are a nature loop trail, water cistern, dry creek bed, learning pond, butterfly garden, nature play, native pollinator plants, and heritage trees for enriched hands-on learning in nature across all subject areas. 

We’re excited to grow our sustainability efforts through the modernization projects. Learn more about AISD Sustainability and find out how to get involved with the AISD Environmental Stewardship Committee. Thank you for your support as we work to create 21st-century learning spaces for all students and continue to reinvent the urban school experience!