المجلس يوافق على إعادة تسمية نورمان إلى مدرسة نورمان سيمز الابتدائية

وافق مجلس أمناء ISD في أوستن في اجتماع التصويت العادي في 18 مايو على إعادة تسمية GW Norman Elementary School إلى Norman-Sims Elementary School. ستسري إعادة التسمية للعام الدراسي 2020-21.

تمت إعادة تسمية الحرم الجامعي وفقًا لسياسة مجلس الإدارة فيما يتعلق بإعادة تسمية الحرم الجامعي الموحد. وافق مجلس أمناء AISD على دمج مجتمعات مدارس نورمان وسيمز الابتدائية في نوفمبر 2019. سينتقل جميع الطلاب إلى نورمان المحدثة في يناير 2021 ، والتي يتم بناؤها حاليًا من خلال بوند 2017.

إن إعادة تسمية نورمان سيمز يكرم مساهمات كل من ماري جيه سيمز وجي دبليو نورمان في أوستن ISD. خدم نورمان وسيمز أكثر من 100 عام من الخدمة كقادة تربويين في وسط ولاية تكساس. منذ العمل الجماعي في بداية العام الدراسي 2018-19 ، عملت المدرستان معًا لخلق شعور مشترك بالمجتمع والغرض ، وعيش شعارهما: "مدرستان ؛ رؤية واحدة." سيعيد الاسم عمل مجتمعي المدارس معا. هناك أجيال من الأفراد الذين حضروا أو عملوا في إحدى المدارس أو كليهما ولا يزالون يخدمون المجتمع اليوم.

عملت نورمان-سيمز كاك المكونة من موظفي المدرسة وأولياء الأمور وأفراد المجتمع من كل من المجتمعات المدرسية - كلجنة إعادة تسمية والتزمت باختيار اسم يكرم إرث كل من ماري جيه سيمز وجي دبليو نورمان.

بدأت المنطقة عملية إعادة التسمية في أبريل من خلال التماس الترشيحات من المجتمع وتم تعزيز الفرصة من خلال وسائل الإعلام المحلية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والتواصل المباشر عبر الهاتف. من بين أكثر من 160 طلبًا بقليل ، اقترح 140 اسمًا "نورمان سيمز". اجتمعت اللجنة في أبريل ومايو لمراجعة سياسة المجلس والنظر بعناية في الترشيحات.

تقديم الجبهة من مدرسة نورمان

Board Approves Renaming of Norman to Norman-Sims Elementary School

The Austin ISD Board of Trustees at its May 18 Regular Voting Meeting approved the renaming of G.W. Norman Elementary School to Norman-Sims Elementary School. The renaming will go into effect for the 2020-21 school year.

The campus was renamed in accordance with board policy regarding the renaming of consolidated campus. The AISD Board of Trustees approved the consolidation of the Norman and Sims elementary schools communities in November 2019. All students will move into the modernized Norman in January 2021, which is currently being built through the 2017 Bond.

The renaming of Norman-Sims honors the contributions of both Mary J. Sims and G.W. Norman to Austin ISD. Norman and Sims served over a combined 100 years of service as educational leaders in central Texas. Since colocating at the beginning of the 2018-19 school year, the two schools have worked together to create a shared sense of community and purpose, living their motto: “Two Schools; One Vision.” The name would reify the work of the two school communities coming together. There are generations of individuals who attended or worked in one or both schools and still serve the community today.

The Norman-Sims CAC-composed of school personnel, parents and community members from both school communities-served as the renaming committee and committed to select a name that honors the legacy of both Mary J. Sims and G.W. Norman.

The district initiated the renaming process in April by soliciting nominations from the community and the opportunity was promoted through local media outlets, social media and direct outreach via phone. Of just over 160 submissions, 140 proposed the name “Norman-Sims.” The committee met in April and May to review board policy and carefully consider the nominations.

Front rendering of Norman School