Sanchez Elementary School

Metz, Sanchez & Zavala Modernization

Sanchez Elementary School

The passage of the 2017 Bond allocated $25 million to modernize an elementary school in our community. After months of community engagement, the Austin ISD Board of Trustees voted in September 2018 to modernize Sánchez Elementary School (ES).

This modernization of Sánchez ES will take two years. After considering the best options for our students, the Austin ISD leadership team has decided that during these two years, students and staff from Sánchez will share a campus with Metz Elementary.  Austin ISD leadership listened to the key considerations and concerns of faculty, staff and families.

Please note: Zavala Elementary students will remain on their campus.

Starting in the fall of 2019, Sánchez and Metz students will be co-located at Metz ES. During co-location, both campuses will share the Metz campus from August 2019 to May 2021. Each school will have space dedicated to their students and staff, and the two communities will share spaces including bilingual daycare, the cafeteria, the library, the pre-K play area and the gym.

In collaboration with the design and construction experts planning the modernized school, the Campus Architectural Team, made up of families, staff and community members, will provide input into the design of the modernized Sánchez. Construction is expected to begin in the summer of 2020.



  • Modernization Budget: $25,000,000
  • Trustee: Jayme Mathias
  • Location: 73 San Marcos St., Austin, Texas 78702
  • Existing Capacity: 580
  • 2016/2017 Utilization: 61%
  • Meeting Materials


  • Martha Castillo, Principal, Metz
  • Roxanna Rodriguez, Assistant Principal, Metz
  • Mary Ellen Alsobrook, Instructional Staff, Metz
  • Odemaris Pozos, Instructional Staff, Metz
  • Laura Ferrer, Counselor, Metz
  • Valerie Estorga, Parent, Metz
  • Nathan Ward, Parent, Metz
  • Azucena Garcia, Principal, Sanchez
  • Stephanie Cortinas, Instructional Staff, Sanchez
  • Leyraliz Hernandez, Instructional Staff, Sanchez
  • Jose Luis Perales, Instructional Staff, Sanchez
  • Leslie D. Inman, Parent, Sanchez
  • Reyna Osorio Silvar, Parent, Sanchez
  • Jose Mejia, Principal, Zavala
  • Angela Bissereth, Instructional Staff, Zavala
  • Holly Lauber, Instructional Staff, Zavala
  • Mayra Lopez, Instructional Staff, Zavala
  • Brenda Garza, Parent, Zavala
  • April Serrano, Parent, Zavala
  • Milly Hernandez, Community Member
  • Marina Islas, Community Member
  • Anthony Martinez, Community Member
  • Aaron Reyes, Community Member
  • Dr. Haydeé Rodríguez, Community Member
  • Dr. Angela Valenzuela, Community Member
  • Kathy Vasquez, Community Member
  • Ryan O’Donnell, STEM Specialist, AISD
  • Dr. Rosa Peña, Director of Leadership Development, AISD
  • Jocelyn Connell, Supervisor for Community Engagement & External Communication, AISD
  • Monica E. Gonzalez, Director for Elementary Schools, AISD