الاستدامة في العمل في مدرسة Govalle الابتدائية

يقوم معلمو Govalle وأعضاء المجتمع بإنشاء منزل لفراشات الملك.

كل يوم هو يوم الأرض في أوستن ISD! نحن #AISDproud للاحتفال بأسبوع الأرض من 19 إلى 23 أبريل من خلال تشجيع الطلاب والأسر والمعلمين والموظفين على التفكير في كيفية جعل الأرض ومجتمعنا مكانًا أفضل. هذه السنوات موقع AISD Earth Week مليء بالمرح والإجراءات البيئية الهادفة ، بما في ذلك يوم الأرض Bingo ، وتعهد تحدي المناخ ، جاردين دي فوسيس مشروع سرد القصص ، وأكثر من ذلك بكثير. 

الاستدامة هي القوة الدافعة وراء مهمتنا المتمثلة في توفير تجربة تعليمية عالية الجودة وشاملة تتحدى الطلاب وتلهمهم لتقديم مساهمة إيجابية لعالمنا. كمبادرة على مستوى المنطقة ، تعمل AISD على تقديم أحدث ابتكارات وتقنيات المباني الخضراء لجميع مدارسنا. مع برنامج Bond 2017 ، تم تصميم كل مدرسة بعناية مع ميزات مستدامة توفر للطلاب فرصة لحل مشاكل العالم الحقيقي وبناء ثقافة الإشراف.

AISD Urban Forester Matt Mears يعلم الطلاب كيفية زراعة شتلات الأشجار.

تعد مدرسة Govalle الابتدائية ، إحدى المدارس التي تم بناؤها من خلال برنامج Bond 2017 ، مثالًا مثيرًا للاستدامة في العمل. كجزء من التحديث ، يشتمل الحرم الجامعي الجديد في Govalle على أسرة حديقة مرتفعة ، وحديقة قراءة في مركز موارد الوسائط ، والحفاظ على الأشجار ، وصهريجًا ، وفصلًا دراسيًا في الهواء الطلق ، وملعبًا مفتوحًا ، وملعبًا رياضيًا مغطى ، وملاعبًا للطلاب والمجتمع للاستمتاع بها. في وقت سابق من شهر أبريل ، عمل AISD Urban Forester Matt Mears مع الطلاب لزرع الشتلات في حقلهم المفتوح الجديد. جاءت الشتلات من شجرة محبوبة تمت إزالتها من الموقع بسبب مخاوف تتعلق بالصحة والسلامة. تأخذ "شجرة العائلة" معنى جديدًا تمامًا في Govalle حيث يلعب الطلاب المستقبليون ويتعلمون تحت ظل هذا الجيل الجديد من الأشجار الموروثة. 

بعيدًا عن مركز الموارد الإعلامية ، يأخذ المعلمون دروسهم لزيارة حدائق التعلم والمُلقِّحات. بمساعدة منحة الاتحاد الوطني للحياة البرية ، ملأ مدرسو Govalle الحدائق بالنباتات المحلية لجذب فراشات الملك. من خلال مراقبة الملوك ، يتعلم الطلاب كيف تتحول كاتربيلر إلى فراشة ، وتلقيح زهرة وتهاجر إلى منازلهم الشتوية. 

سوف يعلم منحل النحل في Govalle الطلاب أهمية النحل لمجتمعنا.

استخدم مدرس AISD Sam DeSanto تربية النحل لإضفاء الحيوية على الدروس في مدرسته السابقة في مدرسة Brooke الابتدائية. عمل موظفو إدارة الإنشاءات في AISD عن كثب مع السيد DeSanto لبناء منحل جديد بالقرب من حدائق الخضروات في Govalle وتحديد أكثر الأوقات أمانًا لنقل الخلية. بمجرد انتقال الخلية إلى منزلها إلى الأبد في هذا الخريف ، سيتعلم الطلاب أهمية تلقيح النحل وكيف يؤثر على الأطعمة التي نتناولها. إنه لمن المجزي للغاية أن نرى طلابنا يجربون العالم الطبيعي بطرق جديدة ومثيرة! لمعرفة المزيد حول تحديث Govalle ، قم بزيارة AISDFuture.com/schools/govalle-es. لمزيد من المعلومات حول التزام AISD بالاستدامة ، قم بزيارة AustinISD.org/sustainability. أسبوع أرض سعيد!

Sustainability in Action at Govalle Elementary School

Govalle teachers and community members creating a home for the Monarch butterflies.

Every day is Earth Day at Austin ISD! We are #AISDproud to celebrate Earth Week April 19-23 by encouraging students, families, teachers and staff to think about how they can make the earth and our community a better place. This year’s AISD Earth Week website is full of fun and meaningful eco-actions, including Earth Day Bingo, the Climate Challenge Pledge, Jardín de Voces storytelling project, and much more. 

Sustainability is a driving force behind our mission to provide a high quality and comprehensive educational experience that challenges and inspires students to make a positive contribution to our world. As a district-wide initiative, AISD is working to bring the latest green building innovations and technologies to all of our schools. With the 2017 Bond Program, each school is thoughtfully designed with sustainable features that provide students with the opportunity to solve real-world problems and build a culture of stewardship.

AISD Urban Forester Matt Mears teaches students how to plant tree seedlings.

Govalle Elementary School, one of the schools built through the 2017 Bond Program, is an exciting example of sustainability in action. As part of the modernization, Govalle’s new campus includes raised garden beds, a media resource center reading garden, tree preservation, a cistern, an outdoor classroom, open play field, a covered sports court and playgrounds for students and the community to enjoy. Earlier in April, AISD Urban Forester Matt Mears worked with students to plant seedlings in their new open field. The seedlings came from a beloved tree that was removed from the site due to poor health and safety concerns. “Family tree” takes on a whole new meaning at Govalle as future students play and learn under the shade of this new generation of legacy trees. 

Just off the media resource center, teachers take their classes to visit the learning and pollinator gardens. With help from a National Wildlife Federation grant, Govalle teachers have filled the gardens with native plants to attract Monarch butterflies. By observing the Monarchs, students learn how a caterpillar turns into a butterfly, pollinate a flower and migrate to their winter homes. 

Govalle’s bee apiary will teach students the importance of bees to our community.

An AISD teacher Sam DeSanto used beekeeping to bring lessons to life at his former school of Brooke Elementary. AISD Construction Management staff worked closely with Mr. DeSanto to build a new apiary near the vegetable gardens at Govalle and determine the safest time to transport the hive. Once the hive moves to its forever home in this fall, students will learn the importance of bee pollination and how it impacts the foods we eat. It is incredibly rewarding to see our students experience the natural world in new and exciting ways! To learn more about the Govalle modernization, visit AISDFuture.com/schools/govalle-es. For more information on AISD’s commitment to sustainability, visit AustinISD.org/sustainability. Happy Earth Week!